Imran Okoth beats Mariga to clinch Kibra seat

Orange Democratic Movement candidate Mr. Bernard Otieno is the new MP elect for Kibra as announced on Friday.

Bernard who is better known as Imran Okoth emerged the winner ahead of 23 other candidates who vied the highly contested by-election on Thursday.

- Advertisement -

He emerged the overall winner with 24,636 votes ahead of Jubilee candidate McDonald who came second. ANC candidate Eliud Owalo was third.

The elections were merged with various allegations including bribery which was strongly denied by McDonald Mariga.

Drama ensued when leaders allied to the Jubilee party made their way into the constituency only to meet irritate youth who were against their presence.

Speaking after the results, DP William Ruto congratulated both candidates for the job well done

“Pongezi Benard Okoth for Kibra. Congrats Mariga, Team Jubilee & supporters for daring the so called ‘bedroom’, braving the chaos/violence, to double our vote from 12%(2017) to 26% now. Our competitors came down 78% (2017) to 52%. They retained the seat we have served notice.”

The new MP confirmed to have received a congratulatory message from his opponent McDonald Mariga for the victory.

- Advertisement -

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles