Thursday, August 18, 2022

UAE suspends issuance of Visa to Kenyans due to COVID-19

Kenya is among 11 other countries that have been suspended by the United Arab Emirates (UAE) from receiving visas due to the rising cases of coronavirus.

Other countries in the list include Pakistan, Turkey, Iran, Iraq, Afghanistan, Syria, Somalia, Yemen and Libya.

- Advertisement -

According to the Star, Pakistan was the first country to confirm the news saying that those who had already been issued will not be affected.

The news come at a time when the country recorded 1,459 new cases of the virus, 780 recoveries and 17 deaths.

“Today 1,459 people have tested positive for the virus, from a sample size of 10,146 tested in the last 24 hours, bringing to 74,145 the number of confirmed positive cases in the country. The cumulative tests are now 815,040. 1,419 are Kenyans and 40 are foreigners.

780 patients have recovered from the disease, 690 from the Home-Based Care Program, while 90 have been discharged from various hospitals. The total recoveries now stand at 50,658.

Sadly, another 17 patients have succumbed to the disease bringing the fatality to 1,330. Our sincere condolences to the families and friends of those who have lost their loved ones.” said Ministry of Health.

- Advertisement -
Berryl Achieng
Kenyan news interests me a lot but I also keep tabs on other news making headlines in Africa and around the world.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles